Geologic units in Shawnee county, Kansas

Wabaunsee Group (Late Pennsylvanian- Virgilian) at surface, covers 46 % of this area

Includes: Wood Siding FM, Root Shale, Stotler Limestone (base ST), Pillsbury Shale, Zeandale Limestone (base Z), Willard Shale, Emporia Limestone (base E), Auburn Shale, Bern Limestone (base BR), Scranton Shale, Howard Limestone (base H), and Severy Shale.

Alluvium (Holocene to Pleistocene) at surface, covers 22 % of this area

unconsolidated sand, silt, clay, and gravel

Drift (Pleistocene) at surface, covers 17 % of this area

sand, silt, clay, and some gravel

Shawnee Group (Late Pennsylvanian- Virgilian) at surface, covers 12 % of this area

Includes: Topeka Limestone, Calhoun Shale, Deer Creek Limestone (base DC), Tecumseh Shale, Lecompton Limestone (base LC), Kanwaka Shale, Oread Limestone with Plattsmouth Limestone Member (base PL).

Admire Group (Late Pennsylvanian) at surface, covers 3 % of this area

Includes: Grenola Limestone, Roca Shale, Red Eagle Limestone (base RE), Johnson Shale, Foraker Limestone (base FO), Janesville Shale with Five Point Limestone Member (base FP), Falls City Limestone, and Onaga Shale.

Douglas Group (Late Pennsylvanian- Virgilian) at surface, covers 0.5 % of this area

Lawrence FM (base LA)- mostly gray shale and sandstone with minor red shale, coal, gray limestone and conglomerate, thickness ranges from 140ft to 250 ft. Stranger FM- five members containing sandstone, shale, and minor limestone, coal and conglomerate ranging from 100 ft. to 180 ft. thickness.